Best Movies I Watched in 2014

I have not watched as many movies in 2014 as I would like, but here are the few I consider most memorable:

The Grand Budapest Hotel

Wes Anderson is as original as filmmakers go, so you’ll either be charmed and find this hugely enjoyable or think it’s weird and silly. I’m definitely the former.

The Grand Budapest Hotel

Interstellar

Wildly ambitious science fiction (always a win in my book), but at its heart, a gripping love story between a father and a daughter. Do you know I once dreamed of being an astronaut?

Interstellar

The Hobbit: The Battle of The Five Armies

Not the best movie of the series, I hate to admit, but I’ve long since fallen in love with Tolkien’s Middle Earth and the epic adventures of its characters. This being the last movie, I miss them already!

the hobbit 3

The Wind Rises

“The wind is rising. We must try to live.”

In his tribute to the aeronautical engineer Jiro Horikoshi, who dreams of flying and designing beautiful airplanes, Hayao Miyazaki offers us a glimpse into the lives of all dreamers and artists devoted to their craft and passionately reaching for the sky. Everything about the movie (the animation, soundtrack, voice-acting) is exquisite, and the theme song “Hikoukigumo” is hauntingly beautiful.

The Wind Rises

What are your favorite movies in 2014? I’d love to hear!

Leave a Reply

