To Ngong Ping by Cable Car

cable car station

Tung Chung cable car station

view from the station

cable cars

in the cable car

in the cable car

in the cable car

view of Hong Kong airport

in the cable car

in the cable car

Big Buddha

It’s crazy how time flies when we are enjoying ourselves. V and I took the entire month of August off, we blinked, and September is here already! Well, to be entirely accurate, V took the month of August off. I left my job, right after my assignment in Perth ended. Yes, it’s a significant change in my life, the job I left being my first and only job ever since I graduated from university, but it felt like the right time to move on and try something new. This is by no means the same as saying it’s not a big deal. It is definitely a step I can’t take back and the start of something potentially very different, and I’m pretty damn scared.

Thankfully, there are things to distract myself from this great unknown, like going through the photos from our short trip to Hong Kong 2 weeks ago! I cannot cram them all into one post, so this is the first of many. I hope you’d enjoy them.

On our first day exploring Hong Kong (which was technically our second day in Hong Kong because we didn’t do much the day we flew in), V and I went to Ngong Ping, a highland in the western part of Lantau Island. There are many ways to get to Ngong Ping, but V and I chose to take the 25-minute cable car ride from Tung Chung, which was well worth our money (HKD 150 per adult for a return trip on a standard cabin) and time spent queueing for the tickets (easily more than an hour, so rise and come early!) because the view of the distant, vast South China Sea and rolling slopes of North Lantau was just too beautiful to miss. The first of its kind in Hong Kong, the cable car journey crosses Tung Chung Bay to reach the angle station on Airport Island (offering a view of the Hong Kong International Airport, strangely small and humble from a distance), and turns about 60 degrees in the air towards North Lantau. The journey takes you from the hustle and bustle of the city to the serene and natural surrounds of Lantau, a welcome escape.

Photos by Arnold Hozana

One thought on “To Ngong Ping by Cable Car

Leave a Reply

