The Line at Shangri-La Hotel

Shangri-La hotel

Singapore National Day

Christina

matcha ice cream

the restaurant

waving the Singapore flag

over desserts

the restaurant

Singapore flag

The Line always makes it to any food blogger’s list of top buffet restaurants in Singapore, but because of its steep price (be prepared to spend close to SGD 100 per adult, or more if you include champagne, wine, and beer in your buffet), we never got around to trying it. Until recently, when we felt that the whole family getting together in Singapore after more than half a year apart deserved a special celebration (on top of Singapore turning 49, coincidentally), price be damned.

The look and feel of the restaurant, admittedly, wasn’t as stylish and luxurious as Melt the World Cafe at Mandarin Oriental (a hotel buffet restaurant I probably hailed as the best in Singapore), but The Line has more food stations than I’ve ever seen in any buffet restaurant in Singapore. There is a counter for every foodie: salad and appetisers, fresh seafood, bread and cheese, roasted meat, fried chicken, assorted sushi and sashimi, satay and rice cakes, roti prata and the accompanying Indian curries, rice with a choice of popular Chinese and Malay dishes, dim sum, Singaporean laksa, chicken rice, and mee pok, custom-made pasta dishes, and for all of you sweet-toothed kids at heart, disproportionate amount of desserts! Altogether, I think I made 5 trips, each loading my plate full. That may not sound like a lot, but lately, I couldn’t eat as much as I used to even if I tried. What do you do, age does that to the elasticity of your stomach.

Overall, the quality of the food is reasonably good, but I reserve special praise for the satays, beef rendang, laksa, and the desserts!

Oh, and did you notice? I had my hair cut short! 😀 After 29 years of denial, I feel like I’ve finally settled on the perfect length for my hair. I was always tempted to grow my hair long so I could wear it in a variety of styles to suit my mood and outfit, but who was I kidding? With time being so precious and me being so lazy practical, what I need the most is low maintenance hair which looks good after only 5 minutes of blow-drying.

Photos by Arnold Hozana

Leave a Reply

