Capsule Wardrobe #1

on

I’ve been following the blog Un-Fancy for a while now (If you haven’t heard of it, go check it out!) and am totally inspired by the idea that a capsule wardrobe minimises clutter, waste, and focuses our time on the few things we really love, things that matter. The scientist/engineer in me understands the Pareto principle (also known as the 80-20 rule, the law of the vital few) all too well, that for many events, 80% of the effects come from 20% of the causes. The same principle can be applied for the things we own. We own so much, only truly love a selected few, and yet, we are too busy or lazy to edit our belongings so that we only keep what we need and love.

How much time do we spend figuring out what to wear in the morning, despite or perhaps due to having so many articles of clothing to choose from? How much space do we allocate presently for the things we rarely wear or use just because we think we may have use for them someday in the unknown future? I believe we can be happy with a lot less, if we take the time and effort to think through what we want and need upfront, and not shop on impulse, and that’s where a capsule wardrobe helps.

In the process of building my first capsule wardrobe, I’ve come to the realisation that for someone who works in a formal environment, I currently own too many casual pieces! I am a casual dresser by nature, so when I shop, I suppose my subconscious favours casual pieces over formal work wear, but this is a perfect example of how shopping without proper planning defies logic and impacts your spending!

So this shall be my first ever capsule wardrobe for the next 3 months (September – November). This includes 16 tops, 9 bottoms, 3 dresses, 3 outerwear, and 6 pairs of shoes. There is no obvious colour scheme, but as much as possible, I’ve selected pieces which will go well with one another to maximise my outfit combinations.

TOPS
Capsule Wardrobe 1 - neutral topsWarehouse top | GG5 shirt | GG5 shirt

Capsule Wardrobe 1 - colour tops

GG5 sleeveless shirt | Dorothy Perkins top | Zara blouse

Capsule Wardrobe 1 - shirts sweater

Uniqlo cotton shirts in beige and black | Uniqlo merino wool sweater

Capsule Wardrobe 1 - black tops

Dorothy Perkins blouse | GG5 top | GG5 shirt

Capsule Wardrobe - sweaters

Tommy Hillfiger cable knit sweater | Free Fusion sweater from Target | River Island sweater

GG5 cardigan

GG5 cardigan
BOTTOMS

Capsule Wardrobe 1 - pants skirts

GG5 lace skirt | Miss Brown Vintage skirt | GG5 high waisted pants

Capsule Wardrobe 1 - work pants

GG5 cropped pants | Warehouse pants | GG5 slouchy pants

Capsule Wardrobe - casual pants

Esprit cropped denim pants | Uniqlo leggings pants in purple and navy blue
Levi's boot cut jeans
Levi’s boot cut jeans
DRESSES

Capsule Wardrobe 1 - dresses

Topshop dress | Modcloth dress | Warehouse dress
OUTERWEAR

Capsule Wardrobe 1 - Outerwear

Uniqlo ultra light down jacket | Massimo Dutti double-breasted coat | Massimo Dutti camel wool blazer
SHOES

Capsule Wardrobe formal shoes

Nine West shoes | Geox pumps | Ecco boots

Capsule Wardrobe - casual shoes

Everlane sandals | Hush Puppies wedges | Staccato sandals

As you can deduce from my selection, I have a strong affinity for certain brands: GG5 and Warehouse for work wear, Esprit and Uniqlo for casual wear, Massimo Dutti for sharp, good quality outerwear. Their clothings fit my size and aesthetic and their prices are very reasonable. What are your go-to brands?

I’m so in love with this concept that I’m thinking of applying it in other aspects of my life too. Let’s call it Project Simplify! Skincare and beauty products is another good example, because I’ve hardly ever finished any product I own and I’m sure a number of them are past their expiry dates by now. Plus, how many shades of lipsticks does a girl need, really?

I’ll fill you in on how I go throughout the next 3 months! Cheer me on, will you?

Photos by Arnold Hozana

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

