A Visit to 2Degree Ice Art

This post is a bit overdue, but hey, better late than never, right? That’s my motto (and appropriately so, since I’m a big procrastinator.)

Being in Singapore for over 7 years now, one can feel bored sometimes. So I’m always on the lookout for new happenings around town, and when I heard of this ice exhibition called 2Degree Ice Art in Marina Bay, I thought, “Aye cmon there, cowboy! Let’s check this out!” (in southern accent) 

Not sure what character I was trying to channel there. Apparently, this pirate slash cowboy was really, really confused.

My experience with ice exhibition is pretty limited. In fact, the only time I have ever been to an ice exhibit was when I was still a kid. I think we went to some dinosaurs ice exhibit which I would so, dying to visit again today, how cool is that! I have to admit, I was pretty excited of the prospect of winter in the hot and humid Singapore. Very much so that I purposely, almost wanted to wear a short dress out, and my boyfriend stopped me, of course after a lot of scolding: “Are you crazy?!”

Okay fine. *sneeze* Party pooper!

Eventually, we got to know that the temperature inside was -15 degrees so I think it was right for him to stop me. Bless his heart.

So the theme of the exhibit is Landmarks from Around the World. Here you are, some pictures for your viewing pleasure!

img_3675

img_3678

img_3684

img_3685

img_3687

img_3688

img_3692

img_3693

img_3695

img_3699

img_3704

img_3707

img_3709

img_3712

Can you notice the Big Ben, Eiffel Tower, Statue of Liberty, Penguin and some random Dinosaur? Wait, what?

Verdict? It was definitely fun ‘cos it’s not something that you get to see everyday. There were also slides inside made of ice that you could play around with! But, the area itself was quite small, so you could finish seeing all the ice arts within half an hour maybe. It just depends on how long you want to stay to take more pictures or play around with the slides. The sculptures itself pretty okay, but again, they were kinda small and I expected something more.

One thing I would rave about was the Ice Bar, though! It was located just right next to the exhibit building, and it was definitely worth trying! Imagine having an ice cold with a glass made of ice in the -15 degrees bar! And what’s more, after you’re done drinking, you could channel your inner Samuel L. Jackson and throw the glass on to the wall! Badass!

img_3713

img_3716

Overall, it was a day well spent and I gotta admit, that I could appreciate the heat a little more after we got out from there. Okay, for about 15 minutes. And then I perspired, and I started swearing and whining again.

Ha!

Leave a Reply

